Let’s Start at the Very Beginning….

To (badly) plagiarize a quote from Goodfellas: “For as long as I can remember, I wanted to be a writer.” There were other interests of course, but I’ve always loved stories. Over the years I’ve started numerous novels. Some even made it to a second page. After college, I decided on the glamorous life of an engineer. 

But the storytelling never really left me. I would write little stories and email them to my friends three or four paragraphs at a time. I’d try to inject a bit of style when writing reports at work. And, of course, there were those sentences I’d written for all the novels I’d never finish.

Back in March of 2013, the writing bug was biting again. This time, I took a different track. Rather than start a novel I’d never finish, I decided to write short fiction. I started with a story of 1,000 words. And then another. Then one that was a bit longer. Suddenly, I had finished stories, and people who would read and critique them for me (thanks, guys!), and I started to submit them for publication. 

I received my first rejection in May, and it gave me a sense of accomplishment — and a drive to do better next time.

It won’t be my last.

Leave a Reply

