Plugging Away

It’s been a month since my last post, and things have happened. I’ll number them, though the number doesn’t matter so much. 

  1. I’ve finished the draft of “Lord Fluffy Bottom Destroys the World” and tossed that on the to-edit pile.
  2. Likewise with another story with the working title “But Daddy, I Love You.” That one’s a horror story I never intended to write. But I did write it, so there it is. That’s also on the to-edit pile. 
  3. I’ve joined a writer’s group, and that’s what most of this blog post will be about.

I submitted “Million Dollar Idea,” and got some really good feedback. Overall, the response was positive though you can’t please everyone. Though I knew I was writing a dystopian story with that one, a few of the people suggested I read Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 when they found out I hadn’t — I know! I don’t have any clue how I passed high school English. First of all, F451 is a fantastic book. If you haven’t read it, go read it. Right now. It’s short. Stop complaining and go do it. I’ll wait. 

Anyway, I read it, like I said, and I can see some valid comparisons there. So that one’s going on the to-edit pile as well. 

And lastly, I’ve sold a story! Well, actually, I did that a month ago, but I didn’t announce it here. More details to come. 

 

2 thoughts on “Plugging Away

  1. Max says:

    I just read your recently published short story and stumbled my way onto your blog from there. I am in the second round at the publication where your story appeared, and I’m crossing my fingers so tight that arthritis is now in my future. Just wanted to say congrats and never stop writing!

    • Thanks, Max!

      That was my first published story, so I’m pretty proud of it. Thanks for reading — and thanks even more for coming here! There’s not much to this blog; I started it when “Hagatha” got picked up so there’d be SOMETING online I could point people towards. I should probably post now and again….

      Good luck with your story. That week or so of waiting SUCKS, but it’s worth it when it works out! I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

